fb.png ig.png
Home > The Pasirian Experience > Teaching and Learning > Departments > Mother Tongue Languages

Mother Tongue Languages

Programme

Mother Tongue Department Vision
The department seeks to equip every student with good listening, speaking, reading & writing skills, so that he / she can become a proficient user of the Mother Tongue Language. We seek to develop in every student a lifelong passion for the Mother Tongue Language, so that he / she can grow to appreciate the beauty therein. We also seek to raise the cultural awareness of students from different races through various cultural programmes and activities, so that they can learn to embrace one another's culture and live in racial harmony in their everyday lives.

CL Unit
  • Lower Secondary – The focus for Lower Secondary is to strengthen language foundation through Self-Directed Learning (SDL) & Collaborative Learning (CoL) by leveraging Info-Communication Technology (ICT)
    • Secondary 1 – Chinese Idioms Card Game (SDL/CoL) / Dramatization of Chinese Classics (CoL)
    • Secondary 2 – LV (Lexicon Vocabulary) Project (SDL/CoL/ICT)
  • Upper Secondary – The focus for Upper Secondary is to enhance language application through training in Critical Thinking (CT) by leveraging on Info-Communication Technology (ICT)
    • Secondary 3 – News Reporting (CoL/ICT)
    • Secondary 4 & 5 – Discussion of social issues & current affairs topics
ML Unit
  • Lower Secondary - The focus for Lower Secondary is to strengthen language foundation through Self-Directed Learning (SDL) & Collaborative Learning (CoL) by leveraging on Info-Communication Technology (ICT).
    • Malay Idioms Project ( SDL/CoL/ICT)
    • Reading Programme – Short Stories & Newspaper Articles through weekly subscription.
  • Upper Secondary -Focus: enhance language application through training in Critical Thinking (CT) by leveraging on Info-Communication Technology (ICT)
    • ‘I Take 3’ - Sharing of free topics.
    • Reading Programme – Short Stories & Newspaper Articles through weekly subscription. (focusing on social issues & current affairs)

Highlights

  • Chinese New Year Celebration
  • Cultural Fuzion
  • Shandong Twinning Programme

Gema Puisi.png
Award Best script.png
GPA 2017 team.png
Our students at Gema Puisi Artistik 2017 (GPA), held annually at NYJCChampion trophies as well as the award for Best Script!Our GPA 2017 team!

People

Subject Taught Name Email
Chinese Language Mr Wong Wei Long
HOD Mother Tongue Languages
wong_wei_long@moe.edu.sg
Malay Language Mdm FIlza Mohamed Omar
SH Malay Language / Pedagogy
filza_mohamed_omar@moe.edu.sg
Chinese Language Ms Chua Sok Ling
YH Upper Secondary 
chua_sok_ling@moe.edu.sg
Malay Language Mr Lokhman Haris
SH Aesthetics
lokhman_haris_abdul_karem@moe.edu.sg
Chinese Language Ms Yuan Pin
ST Chinese Language 
yuan_pin@moe.edu.sg 
Malay Language Mdm Rubiah Massuan rubiah_massuan@moe.edu.sg
Malay Language Mdm Fazidah Mohamed Lias fazidah_mohamed_lias@moe.edu.sg
Malay Language Mdm Anmilia Anwar Datt anmilia_anwar_datt@moe.edu.sg
Malay Language Mr Muhammad Omarali Bin Zulkiflee muhammad_omarali_zulkiflee@ moe.edu.sg
Chinese Language Mr Liu Shu Cun liu_shu_cun@moe.edu.sg
Chinese Language Mrs Wendy Koh wong_jie_lin@moe.edu.sg
Chinese Language Ms Huang Yin-Chiao huang_yin_chiao@moe.edu.sg
Chinese Language Ms Wang Fang wang_fang@moe.edu.sg
Chinese Language Ms Chew Ting Zhen chew_ting_zhen@moe.edu.sg
Chinese Language Ms Wong Yun Yi wong_yun_yi@moe.edu.sg
Chinese Language Mdm Ng Ai Hoon ng_ai_hoon@moe.edu.sg

Photos

Our-enthusiastic-Game-Masters-who-brought-the-house-down-with-their-song-&-dance-items!.jpg
When-the-Monkey-Gods-came-to-visit!.jpg
A-Pasirian-tradition---hampers-for-the-community-during-CNY!.jpg
Pasirians-sharing-the-festive-joy-with-Tampines-residents.jpg