fb.png ig.png
Home > The Pasirian Experience > Teaching and Learning > Departments > English Language & Literature

English Language & Literature

Programme

The English Language and Literature Department is committed to nurturing confident users who are aware of and appreciate the richness of the English language.

This year, our focus on clear and effective communication manifests in programmes and activities such as the Drama Programme for our Secondary One students, Friday Toast and Speakers’ Series. In the classroom, we encourage our students to express themselves effectively through regular presentations, podcast project and Show and Tell.

In addition, we have streamlined our reading programme with a Current Affairs Reading Programme and a series of literary appreciation activities. The former has seen students reading more critically with the help of the Elements of Thought framework. The latter is an ongoing Professional Learning Team (PLT) project which is exploring ways to motivate students to read widely and voraciously. Our other PLT projects involve studying and coming up with pedagogical approaches in the teaching and learning of Visual Texts and exploring the learning frameworks of student-centredness and collaboration with the infusion of ICT in English Language.

Our students are also exposed to a variety of opportunities such as the National Literature Festival which saw them participating in the Book Parade and the International Competitions and Assessments for Schools (ICAS) which challenges those strong in the language. Besides these, we also participated in the S Rajaratnam Storytelling Competition, Julia Gabriel Debate 2014, Commonwealth Essay Competition, The Media Challenge, My First Flash Fiction Competition and BBC Knowledge Magazine’s School Challenge 2014.

It is our hope that we continue to engage our students, helping them prepare for the challenging future ahead of them.

People

Subject(s) Taught Name Email
English Language / Literature Mdm Foong Woon Sin
HOD English Language & Literature
foong_woon_sin@moe.edu.sg
English Language Mr Mong Kok Thong
HOD Information Communication Technology
mong_kok_thong@moe.edu.sg
English Language / Literature Ms Jumiah Ahmad
ST Engligh Language
jumiah_ahmad@moe.edu.sg
English Language Ms Lynn Tan
ST English Language
loy_lin_li_lynn@moe.edu.sg
English Language Mrs Sum Koon May
ST English Language
lim_koon_may@moe.edu.sg
English Language / Geography Mdm Noraidah Suwandi noraidah_suwandi@moe.edu.sg
English /
Elements of Business Skills
Ms Cindy Soh soh_sock_kheng@moe.edu.sg
English Language /
Social Studies
Mr Marc Chong chong_zhi-wei_marc@moe.edu.sg
English Language / History Ms Koh Mei-Zhen Rebecca Lynette koh_mei_zhen_rebecca@moe.edu.sg
 English Language
Ms Filzah Binte Yahaya
filzah_yahaya@moe.edu.sg 
 English Language
Mdm Ramona Bte Mohamad Sidek
ramona_md_sidek@moe.edu.sg 
 English Language / Literature Ms Faith Nah Cher Hui nah_cher_hui_faith@moe.edu.sg 
 English Language / Music Ms Jasmine Peh Hui Wen  peh_hui_wen_jasmine@moe.edu.sg
 English Language /
Physical Education
Mr Jeremy Yeo yeo_shengqiang_jeremy@moe.edu.sg
 English Language / History  Ms Mavis Ho Min Yu  ho_min_yu_mavis@moe.edu.sg
 English Language /
Social Studies
Ms Shayne Ong chi_ying_shayne_ong@moe.edu.sg 
 English Language / Music  Ms Priscialla Tey priscilla_tey@moe.edu.sg 
 English Language / History
Mr Zulkifli Mohamed Saat (AED) zulkifli_mohamed_saat@moe.edu.sg 
 English Language / History
Ms Nadirah Binte Jamallodin
(AED)
nadirah_a@moe.edu.sg 

Photos

IMG_4550.JPG
Drama Programme for Sec 1 students

IMG_4674.JPG
Students at Seng Poh Garden observing the setting as they work on a flash fiction.

EL-deptV1-pix.gif
Drama Programme for Sec 1 students

dept-pictures.gif
CNY Hamper making for the community
 
IMG_4683.JPG
We will ‘prosper’ together - CNY celebration 2015