fb.png ig.png
Home > Holistic Education > The Co-Curriculum > Co-Curricular Activities > Sports & Games > Badminton


About us

PRSS Badminton team was formed in 1983 when the school was under the leadership of the then principal Ms Bandera. The humble beginnings of the team took off when Mr Pay Loo Seng was appointed teacher-in-charge when he arrived in 1993. Under his charge, both the boys’ and girls’ teams rose to prominence and the apex of its achievement came in the years 1995-1998 during which our C boys took part in the national semi-finals in 1995. Our boys, Chang Kim Fatt and Chang Kim Tuck, won individual accolades such as coming in third in the Pilot Pen Nationals under-16 doubles in 1996 and top 8 in the national tournament under-19 doubles in 1998. After years of contribution, Mr Pay retired in 2018 and the flag of PRSS badminton continued to fly high under the stewardship of Mr Iskandar and Mr Kaddy Koh in recent years.
To date, Mr Iskandar and Ms Quah are helming the badminton team in a bid to bring back the glory days, shaping the character of our players at the same time. Our three-pronged approach enables development in the technical, physical and mental aspects of our players. Through astute coaching, currently provided by Mr Sheng Shuang, and exposure to various external competitions, our players are able to enhance their learning experience and improve progressively. We will continue to pursue excellence so as to produce exemplary student-athletes in years to come. 


In 2019, one of our teams progressed to the quarter finals of the ROMP 2019.

In 2020, our B boys beat Chung Cheng High in their zonal group stage to ensure progression into the Quarter Final rounds of the National School Games. However, due to the COVID pandemic, the National School Games had to be suspended.

In 2021, the team participated in the East Zone B Division Badminton Tournament of the National School Games.


 Training DaysTimeVenue
Monday3:00 PM - 6:00 PMSchool Hall
Thursday 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM School Hall 
 Tuesday or Wednesday3:00 PM - 6:00 PMCompetition Period 


Mr Mohamed Iskandar Bin Ahmad (IC)
Ms Quah Wei Wee (2IC)
Ms Li Yang


Chea Hong Hui


Student in action 1.png

Student in action 2.png