fb.png ig.png
Home > The Pasirian Experience > Teaching and Learning > Departments > Humanities

Humanities

Programme

The Humanities Department at Pasir Ris Secondary aspires to cultivate a passion for the study of academic disciplines covering human behaviour and culture.  

The subjects include Geography, History, Social Studies and Elements of Business. In addition, we are preparing our students for the evolving complexities of the globalised world by infusing experiential and hands-on learning opportunities. As part of professional learning, we continue to innovate our instructional programs by using IPad applications in our teaching and learning. In addition, we continuously seek ways for students to apply what they have learnt in the Humanities curriculum into real life contexts, anchored on current affairs.

In 2014, our school started the Applied Learning Programme (ALP) in Humanities and Languages. This resulted in an increase in the variety of Humanities Subjects offered at the Upper Secondary levels. In addition, a thinking paradigm utilising the Elements of Thought and Intellectual Standards was adopted. Together with an emphasis on current affairs, we aim to develop our students into concerned citizens who will be able to contribute meaningfully back to Singapore. 

People

Subject(s) Taught Name Email
Social Studies / History Mr Sim Keng Yam
HOD Humanities
sim_keng_yam@moe.edu.sg
 Geography / Social Studies  Ms Serene Toh
SH Geography
toh_li_hui_serene@moe.edu.sg 
 Geography / Social Studies  Ms Cecilia Ang
AYH LS
 ang_shi_ting_cecilia@moe.edu.sg
 History Mdm Mariamah Mohd Yusoff
LT History 
mariamah_mohd_yusoff@moe.edu.sg 
Geography Mdm Sarifah Bte Tamsir
ST Geography
sarifah_tamsir@moe.edu.sg
Social Studies / Geography Mdm Hairunisa Hosnin
ST Social Studies
hairunisa_hosnin@moe.edu.sg
Geography / 
English Language
Mdm Noraidah Suwandi noraidah_suwandi@moe.edu.sg
Social Studies / 
English Language
Mr Marc Chong chong_zhi-wei_marc@moe.edu.sg
Geography /
Principles of Accounts
Mrs Yeo Wan Li cheng_wan_li@moe.edu.sg
Elements of Business Skills / 
Physical Education
Mr Abdul Halim abdul_halim_mohamed_udori@moe.edu.sg
Elements of Business Skills / 
English Language
Ms Cindy Soh soh_sock_kheng@moe.edu.sg
Geography / History Mr Lim Kian Long lim_kian_long@moe.edu.sg
 History / English Language Ms Mavis Ho  ho_min_yu_mavis@moe.edu.sg 
Geography / 
English Language
Ms Rebecca Neo Hui Yun neo_hui_yun_rebecca@moe.edu.sg
 History / Social Studies Mr Gavin Swee  swee_wei_ming_gavin@moe.edu.sg 
 History / English Language  Mrs Koh Mei-Zhen Rebecca Lynette koh_mei_zhen_rebecca@moe.edu.sg 
History / English Language Mr Josiah Shen Yong En shen_yong_en_josiah@moe.edu.sg
Social Studies /
English Language
Ms Shayne Ong Chi Ying chi_ying_shayne_ong@moe.edu.sg
 History / Food & Nutrition Mrs Patricia Kiew
(CAJT) 
cheong_mei_yee_patricia@moe.edu.sg
 Geography / Social Studies  Ms Ng Sui Lin  ng_sui_lin@moe.edu.sg
 History / English Language Mr Zulkifli Mohamed Saat
(AED) 
zulkifli_mohamed_saat@moe.edu.sg 
 Humanities /
English Language
Ms Nadirah Binte Jamallodin
(AED) 
nadirah_a@moe.edu.sg 
 History /
Malay Language
Mr Saiful Reduwan
(AED) 
saiful_reduwan@moe.edu.sg 
 History / Social Studies / English Language Mr Azahar Bin Mohamed
(FAJT)
azahar_mohamed@moe.edu.sg
Social Studies / Geography Ms Tan Sze Eng   tan_sze_eng@moe.edu.sg
 Social Studies / History  Ms Fiona Chew  chew_xin_rong_fiona@moe.edu.sg

Photos

humanities1.jpg
humanities2.jpg
humanities3.jpg